What is Khata in Property Registration | How Many Types of Khata are there?

February 19, 2021

Importance of Khata

In Karnataka, Khata is a legal document used to calculate and file property tax. It includes information about the property's owner, size, location, carpet area, built-up area, tax assessment, and property identification number. The document is kept by the municipal corporations.

The Khata is a document that shows the account of the owner whose property is registered with the Municipality or Corporation. For Bangalore, the BBMP (Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike) is the authority to maintain Khata.

Property-related work rings alarm, stress, and worry in the majority of people. The general public considers sorting out documents pertaining to any property to be a rigorous task.

Sometimes people mistake a Khata document same as a title deed. However, the Khata is used to calculate property taxes, whereas the title deed is a written document that buyers and sellers sign.

Importance of Khata

All properties within the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) boundaries are required to obtain a Khata certificate. In different parts of the state, obtaining a Khata document is required for obtaining building permits, layout plan approvals, and bank loans. If owners have the Khata document, availing various municipal services such as electricity and water connections becomes easy.

Types of Khata

The 'A' and 'B' Khata certificates are the two types of Khata certificates.

A Khata is given to a building that has received all necessary approvals from the relevant authorities and complies with the building's bye-laws and taxation regulations. Property owners can easily obtain home loans, building plans, and occupation certificates if they have this certificate.

B Khata, on the other hand, is issued to properties that are not completely legal and lack certain clearances. B Khata is issued to properties having pending property tax dues. BBMP is the sole authority to decide whether a property should be issued A or B khata.

In addition to these two types of Khata, an E Khata is a property certificate that is filed or issued online. This certification enables property owners to pay their property taxes online. The BMRDA is the authority to issue this E khata.

Documents required to obtain Khata certificate

A Khata is typically used for the registration of newly allotted properties, property transfers, property bifurcation, and property merging. All property owners can apply for the Khata, given they have the following documents

  • Allotment papers issued by the State’s Housing Board
  • Previous tax paid receipts (if any)
  • Possession documents
  • Attested copy of the title deed
  • Building layout plan

Previously, B Khata properties had some of the same rights as A Khata properties. The former, however, lost any legal status it had after the Karnataka High Court issued an order in December 2014.

B Khata properties are currently classified as illegal, and they must be converted to A Khata in order to engage in trading, construction, or the transfer of property rights.

The bottom line

Property owners having A khata can resell the property as A khata is considered a legal document in all sense. The owner can continue to develop the site with the help of A khata of the property. The A khata further enables the owner to have the option of building a commercial or residential structure.